Favorite Story About Montana Legislature

2000_jackass 

It looks as though the Legislature in Helena will FINALLY come to an end today.  Politicians will not be able to place any more laws or restrictions on us or spend anymore of our money.  The end of the session got me thinking about my favorite story from Helena this year.  Last week I found an article about Representative Boniek bringing his “Democratic friend to the Capitol.” 

Rep. Boniek rode his half horse and half jackass, Jesse, to the Capitol and tied him to a tree on the grounds.  Boniek said that Jesse is his “half-Democrat” friend. 

My favorite exchange from the article was:

“I rode by (U.S. Rep.) Denny Rehberg’s office this morning and one of the staffers came out and I said, ‘I’m bringing my Democrat to the Capitol today,'” Boniek said. “She said, ‘Are you a Democrat?’ I said, ‘No, I’m a Republican, but I’m bipartisan.'”

A little bit of jest is needed in these tense end-of-session situations and I’m glad Rep. Boniek has a sense of humor.  As I wrote in an earlier blog post he’s done a great job in Helena and continues to surprise. 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

