Cable News Slaughter

Cable news

Thank you to 2 Helena Handbaskets and her post called I’m a Foxhound.  I was pleasantly shocked when I saw her post with the cable news show ratings.  After talking to a few friends last night about the cable stations I wanted to make sure everyone saw the ratings and make two points.

First of all, here are the numbers from the Drudge Report – ratings for September 10:

FOXNEWS O’REILLY 3,609,000
FOXNEWS BECK 3,340,000
FOXNEWS HANNITY 2,986,000
FOXNEWS GRETA 2,522,000
FOXNEWS BAIER 2,362,000
FOXNEWS SHEP 2,040,000
MSNBC OLBERMANN 1,573,000
MSNBC MADDOW 1,164,000
CNN KING 965,000
MSNBC HARDBALL 882,000
MSNBC SCHULTZ 734,000
CNN COOPER 691,000

I also looked up the numbers from September 23 at TV by the numbers:

P2+ Total Day
FNC – 1,524,000 viewers
CNN – 609,000 viewers
MSNBC –377,000 viewers
CNBC – 236,000 viewers
HLN – 375,000 viewers

P2+ Prime Time
FNC – 2,910,000viewers
CNN— 1,017,000 viewers
MSNBC –817,000 viewers
CNBC – 441,000 viewers
HLN – 648,000viewers

I am really shocked how Fox News Channel (FNC) is CRUSHING their so-called competition.  I prefer to watch Fox News, minus a few shows I don’t like.  One fascinating thing I do is watch what Fox News is reporting on and then check to see how the other cable news stations are reporting on it.  I find many of the stories on Fox I’m most interested in are not covered on the other stations.  The best example of this would be the TEA Parties.  Fox News had almost wall-to-wall coverage on the millions of Americans who attended these events, while the other stations barely reported on them.

I am a capitalist and I’m happy to see that the marketplace has it right this time.  Fox News does a far better job reporting what is important to the public and the ratings show this overwhelmingly.

The other thing that surprised me was how close Glenn Beck has come to catching O’Reilly, in a relative short amount of time.  I am personally happy to see this.  I prefer Glenn Beck to O’Reilly.  O’Reilly rants much more without backing up his viewpoints.  I prefer Beck’s style; he names the names, his charts, and his overall demeanor.  I also believe that having Beck on O’Reilly’s tail may force O’Reilly to step up his game.

Only time will tell, but one thing for sure: you cannot call it a ratings war; it has to be called a slaughter.

1 Comment

  1. It’s amazing, too, because so many of the other media outlets ridicule FNC as a fringe news outlet that no one of substance would ever watch.

    It’s a Pauline Kael moment!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

