Reading List Help

atlas

I recently read George Orwell’s 1984 and I’m almost finished with Watership down by Richard Adams.  I have a small queue of books coming up next including: another book in the Rich Dad Poor Dad series, Blink by Malcolm Gladwell, and my first Ayn Rand novel.  I think I’m going to read Atlas Shrugged first, though I also have The Fountainhead.

I’m looking for suggestions on other books to read, and figured my friends and readers in the Montana blogosphere would be the perfect group to ask.  I’ve been going back and reading many of the classics I didn’t read when I was younger or rereading them.  Of the classics my favorites are The Count of Monte Cristo and For Whom the Bell Tolls.

So blogosphere, I have two questions for you:

  1. What are some other books I should read?
  2. Should I read Atlas Shrugged or Fountainhead first?
3 Comments

  1. Hmm… You are asking such a broad question that I am personally having difficulty narrowing down which ones to choose. However, as is my nature, I always have something to say or suggest:

    For Relevant Political Reading, I am always a big fan of reading (and rereading) the Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution. But alas, to authors, I enjoy Russell Kirk’s “The Conservative Mind” or a shortened form “The Politics of Prudence”.

    But for lighter fare, science fiction always strikes my fancy. Not the weird silly version of it found in, let’s say, Star Wars. However, Ray Bradbury, Arthur C. Clarke, or for that matter Isaac Asimov usually are fun reads.

    In historical context, Steven Pressfield tops my list. In fact, I highly recommend him.

    Lastly, I would suggest, if you are into horror, a book that I read recently titled “The Historian”. Not a bad read at all and there are no Wookies in it.

    I bid you farewell and happy reading…

  2. I really enjoy Umberrto Eco “The Name of the Rose” is his most famous.

  3. Go with the Fountainhead first, then move on to Atlas. Also, for a quick read, Rand’s Anthem is pretty interesting.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

